Burch Charter School of Excellence

100 Linden Avenue Irvington, New Jersey 07111 Reorganization Board Meeting Minutes May 8, 2023 6:00PM Via Zoom Videoconferencing

Annual Reorganization Meeting Called to Order by Board President, H. Martindale at 7:56PM.

Salute to the Flag-Waived

Roll Call Taken:

Board Members Present

- 1. Heather Martindale, Board President
- 2. Zende Clark, Vice President
- 3. Carolin Heath
- 4. Paulita Martindale
- 5. Tyhisha Henry
- 6. Dewanna Clark-Johnson

Non-Board Members Present

- 1. Joel Julien, School Business Administrator
- 2. Timothy Simmons, Interim Chief School Administrator
- 3. Nicole R. Fisher, Board Attorney

Attorney Nicole Fisher is presiding over the meeting

A. Nomination and Election for Board Officers

- Attorney Fisher opened the floor for nominations for President. Nomination of Zende Clark for President made by H. Martindale and 2nd by D. Clark-Johnson. 5-YES, 0-NO, 1-Abstention. The Board President is Zende Clark. Resolution 05082023-001R
- President Clark is presiding over the meeting and opens the floor for nominations for the office of Vice President. Nomination of Carolin Heath as Vice President made by H. Martindale and 2nd by D. Clark-Johnson. 5-YES, 0-NO, 1-Abstention. The Board Vice President is C. Heath. Resolution 05082023-002R

Nomination of Dewanna Clark-Johnson for Board Secretary made by H. Martindale and 2nd by C. Heath. 5-YES, 0-NO, 1-Abstention. The Board Secretary is D. Clark-Johnson.
Resolution 05082023-003R

Motion to consolidate and approve **Resolution No. 05082023-002R -001R** through **05082023-002R -003R** by D. Clark-Johnson and 2nd by H. Martindale. Motion passed.

B. Appoint Committee Representatives/Liaisons

- **1.** Finance Resolution-05082023-004R-President Clark named C. Heath as Chairperson and named H. Martindale and Mr. Simmons as Committee Members.
- Personnel/Human Resources/Grievance Resolution 05082023-005R-President Clark will serve as Chairperson and named D. Clark-Johnson, C. Williams and Mr. Simmons as Committee Members.
- 3. Building and Grounds Resolution 05082023-006R- President Clark named P. Martindale to serve as Chairperson and named T. Simmons and R. Bartholomew as Committee Members.
- **4.** New Jersey Charter School Association Representative-Resolution 05082023-007R-President Clark appointed T. Henry as Representative.
- 5. New Jersey School Board Association Representative-Resolution 05082023-008R-President Clark appointed Mr. Julien as the Representative.
- 6. Essex County School Board Association Representative-Resolution 05082023-009R-President Clark appointed B. Canady as the Representative.

Motion to consolidate and approve **Resolution No. 05082023-004R** through **05082023-009R** made by P. Martindale and 2nd by T. Henry. Motion passed.

C. Board Business Reorganization

1. Readoption of Board Policies, Rules, Regulations and Directives for 2023-2024-Resolution 05082023-010R

Motion to approve **Resolution No. 05082023-010R** made by H. Martindale and 2nd by D. Johnson. Motion passed.

 Appoint Joel Julien as the Designated Public Agency Compliance Officer (PACO) for 2023-2024 School Year-Resolution 05082023-011R.

- **3.** Appoint Joel Julien as Qualified Purchasing Agent (QPA) for 2023-2024 School Year-**Resolution 05082023-012R**.
- **4.** Appoint Joel Julien as School Business Administrator/Board Secretary for 2023-2024 School Year at a cost of \$11,963.67 a month-**Resolution 05082023-013R**

Motion to consolidate and approve **Resolution No. 05082023-011R** through **Resolution No. 05082023-013R** made by D. Clark Johnson and 2nd by C. Heath. Motion passed.

 Approval of Bank Depositories for 2023-2024 School Year-Resolution 05082023-014R: Investors Bank Accounts#: 149901761, 149903460, 149903479, 149903452, 149903840, 149903444, 149903891.

Motion to approve **Resolution No. 05082023-014R**-made by H. Martindale and 2nd by C. Heath. Motion passed.

6. Approve Designated Bank Signatories for 2023-2024 School Year (Frank Glien and Joel Julien) Resolution 05082023-015R

Motion to approve **Resolution No. 05082023-015R**-made by C. Heath and 2nd by P. Martindale. Motion passed.

7. Approval of Statutory Burch Charter School's Affirmative Action Officer for 2023-2024 School Year: Dr. Karleen Kemp- **Resolution 05082023-016R**

Motion to approve **Resolution No. 05082023-016R** by C. Heath and 2nd by P. Martindale. Motion passed.

8. Appoint Frank Glien as Burch Board Treasurer of School Monies for 2023-2024 School Year at a cost of \$500 a month- Resolution 05082023-017R

Motion to approve **Resolution No. 05082023-017R** by C. Heath and 2nd by H. Martindale. Motion passed.

9. Approve Liability and Workers Compensation Agent-Lamb Financial Group for 2023-2024 School Year- **Resolution 05082023-018R**

Motion to approve **Resolution No. 05082023-018R** by H. Martindale and 2nd by D. Clark-Johnson. Motion passed.

10. Appoint The Law Firm of Nicole R. Fisher, LLC as Burch Board Attorney for 2023-2024 School Year- **Resolution 05082023-019R** Motion to approve **Resolution No. 05082023-019R** by D. Clark-Johnson and 2nd by C. Heath. Motion passed.

11. Approval of monthly board meetings calendar for school year 2023-2024- Resolution 05082023-020R

Motion to approve **Resolution No. 05082023-020R** by H. Martindale and 2nd by D. Clark-Johnson. Motion passed.

12. Approval of Burch Affirmative Action Team for the 2022-2023 School Year: Dr. Karleen Kemp, Jessica Prawetz, and Eric Jean Jacques- **Resolution 05082023-021R**

Motion to approve **Resolution No. 05082023-021R** by C. Heath and 2nd by P. Martindale. Motion passed.

13. Approval of Burch Affirmative Action Officer for the 2022-2023 School Year for Students: Jessica Prawetz- **Resolution 05082023-022R**

Motion to approve **Resolution No. 05082023-022R** by H. Martindale and 2nd by C. Heath. Motion passed.

 Approval of the Star Ledger and Worrall Community Newspapers as media advertising for School Year 2023-2024- Resolution 05082023-023R

Motion to approve **Resolution No. 05082023-023R** by H. Martindale and 2nd by C. Heath. Motion passed.

Motion made by H. Martindale and 2nd by P. Martindale to adjourn the Annual Reorganization meeting at 8:38PM. Approved by consensus.